Funding Programs

Campus Alberta Neuroscience (CAN) was developed to increase the connectedness, scope, scale, success, and impact of neuroscience and mental health research, education, and translation in Alberta. CAN’s best avenues for impact are through bringing people together to develop and enhance collaborations.

Hope for Tomorrow Research Competition

Campus Alberta Neuroscience (CAN), in partnership with the Alzheimer Society of Alberta and Northwest Territories (AS AB/NT), is pleased to announce the launch of the Hope for Tomorrow Research Competition, focused on research that has the potential to make a significant impact on the quality of life of patients, families, and caregivers through exploration into the causes, prevention, treatment, and cure of Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias.

The first year of competition submissions has closed. The next round will open in the second half of 2023.

Entrepreneurship Seed Grant Program

Campus Alberta Neuroscience offers small grants to support entrepreneurship and commercialization in the fields of neuroscience and mental health in Alberta.

Are you an entrepreneur in the neuroscience and mental health field in search of funding?

Great news! CAN will be launching a new program – the NeuroSpark Innovation Grants – starting in July 2023. More details can be found here!

Entrepreneurship Seed Grant Program

This program ran from 2019-2021.

The Entrepreneurship Seed Grant provided funding and collaborative support for early-stage innovation projects with solutions that address neuroscience and mental health related challenges in Alberta. This unique program was designed to help early-stage founders and researchers to scale their innovation or company by providing financial support and access to CAN’s extensive network of over 1,000 members including founders, industries, consultants, partners and investors. The projects chosen for funding have compelling plans for the creation of a product or service (e.g., devices, therapeutics, software, etc.) with a demonstrated application to impact neuroscience and/or mental health fields.

Check out past entrepreneurship seed grant recipients:
Aaron Phillips
Peter Stys & George Templeton Amira Medical Technologies Inc.
Simba Nyazika Lenica Research Group / Peak Cognition App
Lukas Grasse & Matthew Tata Reverb Robotics
Michael Overduin SMALP Network
Tuan Trang & Darren Derksen AphioTx
Alim Mitha Fluid Biomed
Jacqueline Hebert Gaze and Movement Analysis Inc., GaMA
Simonetta Sipione
David Westaway
Majid Mohajerani Neurocage Systems, Inc.
Deborah Kurrasch Path Therapeutics, Inc. 
Christopher D’Esterre Andromeda Medical Imaging
Aaron Gruber & Wilten Nicola Synaptrain Technologies Inc.
Gerald Zamponi Zymedyne Therapeutics
V. Wee Yong Anthobio, Inc.
Ming Chan Adonis Medical Technologies
Pierre Wijdenes Neuraura Biotech
Eden Redman 8 Bit Cortex / RemBRAINdt
Samsoon Inayat AI Kinetic Systems, Inc.
Jaideep Bains SenseSi Technology, Inc.
Satyabrata Kar
Robert Sutherland Synaptag Technology, Inc.
Nathanial Maeda Cognitive Projections
Richard Wilson AazeinTx
Ryan Rosentreter Cortian Medical Technologies
Preeti Kar
Geoff Frost Raft Digital Therapeutics
Samuel Pichardo NovusTx Devices
Abdullah Sarhan Retinalogik Biotech, Inc.
Wendy Muise Breast Buds, Inc.